• Open Spaces

With its scenic cliffs, historic harbour, hiking trails, and public parks the downtown area has plenty of open space for you to enjoy whenever you want. To promote life in downtown the DDC has included a few of these places with links for more information.

Constabulary Court

The latest addition to the Downtown St. John’s Open Spaces Revitalization Program, Constabulary Court is located at the cross roads of New Gower Street and Queens Road. This open space is dedicated to the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary and features a larger than life statue by Luben Boykov of an RNC officer in period uniform assisting a young girl. Constabulary Park was officially opened on August 18, 2010 by¬†Gov. General Michelle Jean. Constabulary Court was a joint project of Downtown St. John’s, the City of St. John’s and the Grand Concourse Authority.

Bannerman Park

This Victoria-style urban park was officially opened in 1891 by Sir Alexander Bannerman, Governor of the Colony of Newfoundland from 1857 to 1864, who donated the land to create it. Today it contains a public swimming pool, playground, a baseball diamond, and many large open grassy areas.

Bannerman Park plays host to many festivals and sporting events, most notably the Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Festival, and it is the finishing location for the Tely 10.

For more information:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bannerman_Park

Signal Hill

This historic site celebrates the rich communications and military history of Signal Hill and sits amidst a spectacular view of St. John’s and the sea. Signal Hill was the reception point of the first transatlantic wireless signal by Guglielmo Marconi in 1901, as well as the site of harbour defenses for St. John’s from the 18th century to the Second World War.

For more information:
http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/nl/signalhill/index.aspx

East Coast Trail

The East Coast Trail is a 540 km coastal hiking experience that takes you to the outermost reaches of North America. The Trail provides walkers and hikers with a special blend of wilderness adventure, outstanding natural beauty, wildlife, history, and cultural contact.

For more information:
http://eastcoasttrail.ca/

Harbourside Park

This delightful park was built opposite the National War Memorial to commemorate the 1583 proclamation by Sir Humphrey Gilbert claiming Newfoundland.

  • Related Businesses

The City of St. John’s and Air-Tite Sheet Metal Limited advises the public that Water Street between McBride’s Hill and Clift Baird’s Cove will be closed from 5 am to noon on Sunday, July 20 to facilitate the installation of equipment at the Bank Of Montreal. Metrobus will be re-routed to Harbour Drive. For more [...] Read More

Husky Energy announced this morning they will be sponsoring the Reel Downtown outdoor movie screening series for the remainder of 2014! every Monday night in July Downtown St. John’s organizes and presents Reel Downtown – the outdoor movie screening series – on Water Street. Great movies are projected on to the wall at the foot [...] Read More

View All News Items

Newfoundland flag Confederation Building CBC

The Progressive Conservative party announced that Wally Childs will run for the party in the byelection for the district of St.George's-Stephenville East.

Read on CBC.ca

Wabush Mines sticker

The U.S. company that idled Wabush Mines this winter confirms that it is talking with another company about the potential sale of the iron ore operation.

Read on CBC.ca